Home > Uncategorized > Are current assessment methods beneficial to the student?

Are current assessment methods beneficial to the student?

November 15, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

From my Psychology in Education class – rather insightful, I think. Have a read of the discussion that is taking place in the comments – do my students need to take an exam to demonstrate learning? I think not? Would this method of learning work for other topics – I think so!

Well worth clicking through to have a good read.

The Thoughts and Ramblings of a Mad Man

Continuing on the topic on learning in university, I would be amiss if I did not include exams in my blogs. A couple of weeks ago in my blog I mentioned I had a meeting with Fay about the exams we had. Duncan and I explained that with MCQs and SAQs we would cram as much information as we could. I would use memory techniques to remember 16 references and build my essays around them. I would then forget about all the reading I had done shortly after the exam. I explained that I didn’t feel like I was really learning, it felt more like a ticking boxes exercise.

In my speech last week, during a mini rant I made the point that every module, apart from those influenced by Jesse, assessed our “learning” the same way; a midterm, a final and a 500 word assignment. If you remember the…

View original post 1,063 more words

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

